top of page

Show some personality with your #GradSchoolStyle

August on the East Coast is filled with humidity, summer storms, last-minute vacations, and back-to-school shopping. College students spend a lot of $ before heading back to school. In fact, the National Retail Federation estimates expected spending of $976 per household on back-to-college shopping in 2019. As a scientist and a number lady, you knew I had to come with the facts.


Cool cool cool, but does back-to-school stop when you finish your undergraduate degree? This got me thinking: "What about shopping for graduate school?" I may be biased, yet I would argue that graduate students are an underserved population that can benefit greatly from 'back-to-school' deals. But who is catering to graduate students? With limited budgets, conference presentations, and heightened professional responsibilities (compared to that of undergraduates), graduate students need appropriate and AFFORDABLE options.


I thought I could give a unique perspective to this topic, harmonizing style, practicality, and affordability.


Classes & Writing

Days as a PhD student are variable. Starting my second year, I spend some days in classes, I spend some days writing at my desk, I spend some days in lab. The first two allow me leniency with my attire -- and are likely more relatable to those pursuing a PhD outside of a wet lab. Sitting in classes, at your desk, at your campus coffeeshop may not call for an evening gown, but if I'm not hiding in lab, it's my philosophy to dress as though I'll run in to a job opportunity. Is it unlikely? Yes. But I want to come ready to make a good first impression. And contrary to popular belief - that doesn't require you to be in a suit!



I would style this dress with:

white sneakers + jean jacket

neutral flats + cardigan

nude heels + blazer

black booties + jean jacket




Meetings, meetings, meetings.

Regardless of your graduate school discipline, you're bound to have meetings. Meetings with your boss, internal meetings of organizations, meetings with collaborators, conferences. It's inevitable. I get a lot of questions from my fellow graduate students and colleagues on conference style -- where to shop for it, what's appropriate, how to avoid compulsive buys and shop for long-term use. I think conferences are the closest I get to "corporate attire" during the year, but I like to retain some personality even if I have to dress up.



Other looks to style with these pieces:

skirt + white button up + pink cardigan

coffee graphic tee + jeans

coffee graphic tee + colored dress pant

pink cardigan + dress





Lab Work


I just can't get over this Coach bag from Queenstown Premium Outlets!



6 views0 comments
bottom of page